January 7, 2020
Burger King UK’s new soy “Rebel Whopper” is not in fact suitable for vegans, as it uses real mayonnaise and is cooked on the same grill as meat burgers.
The Rebel Whopper, which is made with a soy mix, will be rolled out nationwide by January 8th, but vegans or vegetarians won’t be able to consume it. Sam Calvert, the head of communications at the Vegan Society, said that it “seems a missed opportunity,” claiming that vegan mayonnaise is “readily available,” and that it wouldn’t be hard to cook them separately.
Katie Evens, Burger King UK’s marketing director said that the burger was marketed more towards “flexitarians” – people who wanted to cut down their meat intake – and not vegetarians or vegans:
This really is a game changer – we wanted our first plant-based Whopper to replicate the indulgence and flame-grilled taste of the real thing as closely as possible, and we’re thrilled with the result. We’re delighted to satisfy the demand for this highly-anticipated product and finally bring the Rebel to the UK.
This angered some vegans online, who were disappointed at not having another item directed at them:
And it’s served with mayonnaise with eggs in. When every other fast food company is delivering actual vegan products it’s such a shame Burger King can’t be bothered to do the same.
— Donna Wishart – What the Redhead said (@genuineplacebo) January 6, 2020
This article was posted: Tuesday, January 7, 2020 at 7:35 am